Thread: Bachelor of Education Early Childhood Q?

Default Bachelor of Education Early Childhood Q?

So for a long time now I've harboured a desire to become a early childhood teacher. I've always found reasons to put it off but now that I'm home with the baby I've been thinking more and more about actually going ahead and doing it. My two biggest fears are that I'm not smart enough for uni (I'm a practical hands on learner) but I know a lot of that is tied up in self esteem and secondly I'm really not an arty person. For those of you that have done the degree do you need to be really good at arts and crafts to complete it? What sort of stuff do you have to make? I can definitely print stuff out and laminate but I'm not good at drawing/ making stuff etc.

Default Re: Bachelor of Education Early Childhood Q?

I am currently studying my bachelor of education primary. I started back in 2009, since then have had 3 children and am now part time and will get there soon in a couple of more years.

While I am not doing early childhood we do share a number of the same units and it's definitely not at all a requirement to be artistic. In fact it's more about guiding the students and letting them express and draw/create what they want. It's about talking to them about their creation, linking it to some other learning (maybe you have a theme of animals or dinosaurs) and building their confidence levels. It's about helping create self motivated learners.

My two sons are at kinder. The main teacher ( the one with the degree) does not do any art. She plans the activities, looks at literacy learning etc. it is the co- educator ( cert III ) that likes to be creative and decorate the room.

Hope this helps. I have wanted to be a teacher for years and years and finally at age 30 (all those years ago!) finally took the first step.

Good luck!