Thread: Diploma of Nursing and motherhood

Default Diploma of Nursing and motherhood

Hello,
    Just wondering if anyone is or has studied the Diploma of Nursing after they became a mum?
    How did you manage study around the kids and did you study it part time or full time?
    Did you do any further study after finishing the course or were you happy enough to stop just at the diploma level?
    was it hard finding a job once you had completed the course?
    Sorry for all the questions I think I need to get more of an idea on how other mother's juggle everything while they studied and went on placements during the course to see if as a mother of 4 I could undertake the workload myself.

Thanks

Default Re: Diploma of Nursing and motherhood

I studied a bachelor of nursing (3yrs full time). I was a single mum of 1 and started when DD was 6weeks old. She went to daycare and family daycare from 6weeks old. I didn't find the study hard but I had just came straight from my HSC so was still in the study mode. I found Uni so much more flexible with lots and lots of time off. The first Year I did part time but picked up full time from the next year onwards so it ended up taking me 4yrs not 4.

As for placements I elected to stay local for everything possible. By the time I had to go away DD was 2 and 3. I also had very limited family support and paid my family daycare mum to have her for the 5days. Fortunately she had become a good friend by then so it wasn't so hard leaving DD with her. I was also on a single parent pension so had substantially subsidised Childcare costs.