Thread: Help with Cushie Tushies

Question Help with Cushie Tushies

Sorry to be the one always asking questions, and thinks in advance for reading this.

I am a total cloth newbie and i only have 9 so far including 3 Cushie Tushies which arrived on Monday (1 couture, 2 basics). I washed them, and put them out to dry. They took forever to dry, which had me thinking perhaps they aren't the best winter nappy for those in Vic!

When DS woke up from his afternoon sleep at 4.30 yesterday, I put 1 of the basics on him. I took it off at 7.15 on his way to the bath - only to see the most hugest sorest looking welt on his little bum. Plus there were other little red patches too. Nasty looking. I have not had a problem with nappy rash with the prefolds or the BumGs that i am using.

It seems to be too much of a coincidence that he got these awful welts after wearing the Cushie Tushie?? And i'm not putting another one back on him until i know what's going on.

Can someone tell me what the fabric is on the CT that is touching DSs skin?
    Is this possibly causing a reaction?
    Could there be a different problem?
    Are there other nappies made of the same fabric that i should avoid? (seeing as i am trying to biuld up to full time MCN use).
    I guess most importantly, can someone tell me if there is something i can do to make this not happen again? (i.e. get something sewn-in?)
    Or do i need to accept that these are not the right nappies for DS and cut my losses?

Sorry, this ended up quite long. I spent a bit of money and I am very anxious to make this right.

Thanks
    Jo

Hey Jo

I'm sorry that you are having troubles with them! They have a microfleece inner, which isnt really known for being an irritant - usually its suedecloth (like whats in bumg's) that causes the most problem.