Thread: Croup advice

Default Croup advice

Just found out dd has croup. Went to bed fine last night, woke this morning wheezing. Took her to the doctor about 3pm and got out at 6pm. She had a slight fever, but have since given her panadol and it's down. She is fine other than the wheezy breathing. I just read that if the is wheezy while resting to take her to the hospital. But she is wheezy all the time.
    It just doesn't seem hospital worthy. The GP said to take her if it gets worse, but the wheezyness is probably about the same. She cleared up whilst on the machine at the GP office and again when I just gave her the at home ventolin spacer thing. But the wheezing just comes back.

I have no experience with this and I'm a little scared. But I really don't want to wait in emergency for 5 hours to either a) go home or b) stay the night in hospital. Is this something I should be taking more serious? Or should I just keep an eye on her overnight?

Default Re: Croup advice

My daughter (now almost 7) gets sporadic croup (just turns up without illness).

She goes from barking cough, to wheeze, to stridor (squeaky breathing) very quickly and she always needs steroids to help.

Croup always gets worse at night.

Croup is 'usually' caused by a virus of the upper airways (throat and windpipe)
    Children have naturally narrow airways, so any inflammation can cause it to become even smaller, which can make it harder to breathe.
    The 'bark' is due to the force of air attempting to get out of a tiny airway when they cough.

Many children do not need support for croup, but some do.

If your daughter is struggling to breathe or having any trouble breathing, she should be seen again. She was put on a 'machine' at the dr? Most probably a nebuliser? If this helped, then it was because she was already having trouble breathing. It will get worse overnight, and it's always worse on about day 2-3.