Thread: first time making birthday cake help!

Default first time making birthday cake help!

It's Moo's 2nd birthday very soon and this time I am determined to make his cake myself

Any tips for a novice like me? It's got a little bit of cutting involved and lots of icing/decorating. Is it better to freeze ahead? When would I actually ice it, on the day or night before? Is it better to use a cake mix or make from scratch?

I'll be doing a practice one some time in the next week so appreciate any hints!

I just want to firstly say I am by no means a cake expert just a beginner.
    I usually use a cake mix to make my cakes. Mainly because I like the taste of it. I usually make it the day before and stick it in the fridge. I ice it later at night the day before (mainly because DD is in bed and I can do it without her help). I have heard you can freeze it but haven't tried it myself.

The best advice I got was "It doesn't matter what your cake looks like as long as the person you are making it for likes it" Just relax and have fun doing it.

How fun. I made my first real decorated myself cake for DD1 2nd birthday. It was a cow and the theme was MOO MOO guess who's TWO
    I made it all the night before and used both Fondant and butter icing and found that Fondant is really easy to work with.
    I had white fondant and coloured it myself. I would not freeze anything and I would do it the night before as you don't want to be rushing it on the day and if you need to fix anything then you have the next day to do it.
    I would say make sure you are not disturbed so you don't lose focus.

I used packet mixes for this cake, I love the Greens packets. I usually make cakes myself but just thought I would go easy on the actual cake making and focus on decorating.

Goodluck. It is the best feeling when you finish after so much work has been put into it and it looks great.