Thread: dumb question re: exercising

Question dumb question re: exercising

okay many moons ago (MANY) i used to be a fitness instructor, so i don't know why i am asking this question... but... here goes....

in an attempt to start very very slowly into exercising daily, i've written a little program for myself consisting of resistance training type exercises around the house, like squats, push ups, bicep/tricep curls, ab crunches etc etc etc etc, and i am keeping a record of what i do and am planning on increasing it week by week, eventually with adding some dreaded cardio.... ANYWAYS.... since i am working and am busy and yada yada yada, i was wondering, does it make any difference if instead of spending a half hour doing all the exercises, if i split it up throughout the day??? as in, wake up and get the leg work done.... do the crunches at lunch time, and the push ups and arms in between cooking tea....?

for some reason it just seems too easy to then be exercising each day.... dedicating a half hour + in one hit often gets put into the too hard basket, but if i could just do five minutes here and there throughout the day, would i still get the same benefits???

dumb question i know, as i can't see any reason why it wouldn't be the same as doing it all in one hit.... but for some reason it seems to good to be true, as i feel like i could actually keep this up and sustain it.

what exercises do you all do around the house? got any tips for doing cardio while bubs is sleeping?

i hate cardio

I have definately read recently that it doesn't matter if you split your workouts up during the day, as long as you get the right amount in the end. I think the main thing is that you are exercising for long enough to get your heart rate up into the right % you want then you'll be fine.

With your resistance training why not try to add some dynamic moves in there? In my PT sessions we do some really good ones and they really get the heart rate up!