Thread: losing fat but not weight?

Question losing fat but not weight?

I don't know what's going on! I seem to be losing fat but not weight!

I hit a plateau with my weight loss about a month ago. It lasted for two weeks or so, then I lost 1.5kgs fairly quickly. But now I've hit another one! After just a couple of weeks, and I don't know why! The thing is though, I suspect that i've actually lost fat? My clothes are looser, and new clothes I've bought have been a size smaller than i've worn in years (though there's no standardized sizing in Australia so I don't know how much weight that holds). I'm so confused!

I've been walking most days for an hour while carrying dumbell bars (without weights on them), and eating 3 meals and 2 snacks. I've started drinking 1 bottle of (non-alcoholic) beer a day, but I thought that could be preventing weight loss because of the carbs, so I've just stopped.

Helpish?

I'm no expert but you could be losing fat and gaining muscle so it just looks like you've lost no weight? Just a though.

Thanks. That was my thought too but I haven't really been doing anything to build muscle? Though I guess walking with dumbells and picking up and carrying an increasingly heavy baby could be contributing.

It sounds like a normal weight plateau situation in that your body is now used to what you are doing. The best way to get the weight loss started again is to change your exercise routine a bit to kick start your weight loss again. Can you do some skipping at home or swimming or incorporate some jogging or stair climbing into your walking?

Water, water, water!!!
    Whenever I hit a plateau, it is because I am not drinking enough water. To aide your weight loss, it is said that you should drink 1ltr of water for every 25kgs that you weigh. It seems like a lot, but it is worth it in then end to help shift your weight and you get healthy, clear skin as well

I totally agree re the water!