Thread: Writing

Default Writing

DD1 has an interest in starting to write. At the moment she does a million 'o's' on a page and tells me what it says.

She also asks daily to go to school lol.

I've bought a few writing, alphabet etc books for her to start practicing with. She manages a very rough capital A and a very swirly B, and a back to front C. but I don't know if I'm going about it the right way. I have no teaching background, and obviously she is still quite young. I don't want to push her to do anything, and prefer for her to develop at her pace.

Is there a certain system I should be following though to support her trying to write. What happens at school, is there a special method? A good way for her to recognise the alphabet? She can recite the whole alphabet accurately, but doesn't recognise many letters in written form.

Does she need to be able to read before writing?

I find it so hard to keep up with ther little brain because she seems to want to cover stuff that I think was too old for her.

Any advice if welcome.

Tia!

Default Re: Writing

How old is she? I don't think anything is too old for them if they are keen and excited about it and taking it in. And I don't think there is a right way for them to learn the letters - some kids like to be 'reading'/read to and will learn the letters by sight first, some like to draw and if you give them the shapes and repeat what that letter is when they do it they will learn it just the same.
    You can do little activities like cutting out each letter of her name and arranging it in order, then when she has that you can add the middle name, surname, sibling names etc until the vast majority of letters are covered.