Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Storing breast milk question

Default Storing breast milk question

I am an expressing newbie, so forgive me for the silly questions I may ask lol!

Last night I managed to get 50ml and after expressing put it straight in the fridge in an air tight container. I've just gone to get it out of the fridge to add the other 50ml I just expressed to it and the milk I expressed last night looks, well, a little curdled I guess. All the "fatty" bits are sitting at the top of the milk. This isn't normal is it? Not sure what I did wrong?

Also, is it ok to be adding ebm to previous ebm in a 24 hour period?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Its normal for it to separate, just shake it up.
    As long as the milk is the same temperature you can mix it but don't add room temp milk to fridge cold milk.
    Can't remember the exact timings for how long to keep it I will check breastfeeding naturally tonight if no-one else can advise

It's totally normal for it to split, just shake really well before using to mix it up again. I would only add them together if you were freezing it but even then having smaller amounts is easier as they may not always want 100ml and then it's wasted.

Yeah, that ^^ except DON'T shake it. Swirl it gently until it mixes back together. Shaking it kills some of the good stuff in BM

Sent from my iPhone so forgive the speelung misstacks

You have to freeze it within 24 hours. Well, thats what Royal Children's told me.
    After its been defrosted it needs to be used within 12 hours. And can't be re-frozen.

Thanks for the replies, see told ya I'm a complete newbie!

What is best used to freeze ebm in?

You could check out the ABA website - they have a lot of information about expressing and storing breastmilk. You could also call them on 1800 MUM 2 MUM and they can answer any questions that you may have.