Thread: Transiting from Symphony to Freestyle

Default Transiting from Symphony to Freestyle

Hi there,

I have been using the Medela Symphony for full time use for the past 5 months (on hire) and feel really confident in the pump and what I'm doing. I just bought the Freestyle as I'm going back to work and I need something which I can take with me and I'm sick of paying a hire fee. I had a couple of queries which I"m not sure if there is something wrong with the pump or if I'm just having adjustment problems. Medela is going to check it out for me but I might be making something out of nothing and might just need some reassurance. So if you have used both please comment and let me know your experience.

1) Suction level - I can have the Freestyle on the highest suction level and I still feel really comfortable a bit like something buzzing on my nipple. My nipple is still drawn into the funnel and I get milk. When I use the Symphony I can only have the machine turned on about 1/3 of the possible strength and I'm only just comfortable. I'm in pain if I turn it up higher. I feel a definite tugging of the nipple rather than a buzzing sensation. One of the issues which has led me to express full time was significant pain when BF so I"m surprised that i can turn the Freestyle onto maximum and not feel anything more than a buzzing sensation.

2) Noise level - the Freestyle sounds like it is going to take off. I have to turn the t.v. up and it would be highly audible if I was on the phone. Does this sound right?

Thanks for your assistance - do I have an issue with the pump or an issue with adjusting?