Thread: Can you bottle-feed a baby to sleep?

Default Can you bottle-feed a baby to sleep?

Forgive me, I have no experience with FF, so this may sound incredibly dumb. I need to go back to work and, while I haven't gotten a job yet, it's inevitable that DD is going to need to drink bottles as if she's anything like her sister she won't be into solids for a good couple of months yet.
    Thing is, Phoebe is fed to sleep. I love it, it's so quick and easy. She hardly ever cries before going to bed. I'd love to keep it that way if at all possible.
    I will be expressing, but even in the middle of the night I don't get much. My main concern is that having a bottle to settle her will over-feed her? (Given how easily the milk comes out of the bottle.)
    She won't take a dummy at this stage.
    Any advice? Does anyone bottle-feed their baby to sleep, or bottle feed simply for comfort?

j just gets fed whenever hes hungry he doesnt feed to sleep but when he was small he did which meant not sleeping till 10 or later now he eats at 7 and is in bed by 8:30 but he has a dummy maybe a blanket or something for her as a comfort and u could even rock to sleep if necessary

we don't exactly feed to sleep (used to when she was a newborn) but she does sometimes fall asleep during her bottle, often she'll close her eyes and drink but open them once I put her on my shoulder to burp her (if I wasnt so unco and could move her without disturbing her too much she probably wouldn't wake up!). If she is really tired though she will fall dead asleep during the bottle, she may only drink half or 3/4 of it and fall asleep...once her mouth falls open and she's not sucking on the teat so the bottle comes out easily then i know she is asleep! So yep it is possible, although it may take a little while for her to get used to it if she is used to being b/f.

all my babies bottle feed to sleep. Mateauz has just finished about 6 months ago.