Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Edible garden chatter

I would love to start an edible garden! I am not very good with plats though so not sure how I would go as I don't know where to begin.

Where should you plant veggie garden? Does it need to be in the sun all day? or just sun in morning or arvo?

i started a vegie garden a couple of months ago. i bought one of those colourbond raised garden beds from bunnnings, it the smallest one. the square shaped one. filled it with a mixture of garden soil, cow manure, sugar cane mulch, and some special mix of stuff for vegie beds (cant remember what it was called). i put in there some cucumber, zuccni (way to many, i didnt know how big they grew and i think they are going to take over the whole thing soon), snow peas (i didnt realise they would be wanting to climb up so i didnt put them near a trellis, silly me) tomatoes, shallots, carrots and cos lettuce. i have had to move the snow peas and i am afraid they are going to die now, their leaves are going a bit dried up at the bottom. i have also found that i have a bug problem. soemthing is eating holes in the leaves of my basil, snow peas and edges of lettuce. i got some spray from the garden shop but that doesnt seem to be doing much.

i am really not a gardner so i dont really know what i am doing. i will be reading this thread for tips for sure!

I have a recipe for homemade insecticide. It involves pureeing 10 cloves of garlic and 3 tsp of vegetable oil. Strain into a 1L jar. Add 3 cups of hot water and a tsp of dishwashing liquid. Spray infested plants, making sure to cover both sides of leaves. Apply every 3 days for a week. Then repeat as required.

Sent from HTC wildfire using TAPATALK, so forgive any spelling errors its a small keyboard.