Thread: Self sufficient

Default Self sufficient

So I am new to the gardening thing. My family has always had a garden but it's never been a great interest of mine, but I am now started to get the gardening bug.

We have a largish inner suburbs block now so we have the space for a decent veggie patch.

I am interested in seeing how much we can grow ourselves and whether it's possible to be semi self sufficient vegetable wise.

Does anyone do this? How much space do you use to feed your family? Does it save you money or does it end up cancelling itself out with water/gardening costs?

Where should I start with vegetable staples?

I have all my herbs already so I am looking more for advice and viability for doing a home garden?

TIA

Default Re: Self sufficient

DH is mainly the gardener, but I will try to answer what I can

Quote Originally Posted by little_O View Post
    Does anyone do this? How much space do you use to feed your family? Does it save you money or does it end up cancelling itself out with water/gardening costs?
    TIA
    We have 8 x 10 square metre beds. It is a huge amount and when something really goes well, we get an overload of vegies.
    I really do not believe it saves us money. Costs seem to be:
    • Seeds seed, raising mix
    • Seedlings
    • Snail bait
    • Fertilisers - blood &bone, bags of sheep poo etc
    • Mulch - pea straw
    • Hoses, attachments etc - if you get it right and can spend on better quality, really a once off expense, but it can be hard to get right first off, especially if the budget wont stretch to the expensive stuff.

Then there also various equipment, spades, forks etc, Depending on the size you want to go for, you may need to hire a tiller to do the ground work.
    We have not gone for raised beds, so no expense there.

Then you have the preserving of your produce. Will you be bottling the extra tomatoes? Freezing? So you may need a bigger freezer or a bottling unit.