Thread: Hi - I'm new with some questions

Default Hi - I'm new with some questions

Hi,

My OH and I are in the middle of moving to Australia (she's Australian and I'm English) on an interdependcy visa and we're wanting to get started on IVF (to have our own baby) within the year.

I've already got 3 children from a previous marriage and my OH doesn't have any - what we're wanting to do is to use her egg and for me to carry the baby using donor sperm. I can't have anymore children of my own the traditional way due to a tubal ligation 9 years ago and as I have a much higher risk of neural tube defects (have already lost a baby to anencephaly) I'm not happy about using my own eggs - plus OH wants a genetic baby of her own.

Am I right in thinking that we can access Medicare funding for the procedure which will just leave us paying the top-ups? Can anyone recommend a good clinic in NSW (Newcastle area) that is lesbian friendly?

Thanks,

Fiona

hello there and welcome! Im not sure of about newcastle for fertility clinics but there are definately a couple in Sydney, we are going to be using a clinic in sydney ourselves. As far as the cost goes, you will still have out of pocket expenses after medicare, medicare doesnt cover administration fees either, so when you refer to top ups, you are paying the difference, yes. You will need to apply for a medicare card as soon as you arrive. I did have a question though, why doesnt your partner have the child? Im just curious! What a move for you also! huge infact, are the children excited? congratulations anyway and I wish your family the best of luck settling into a new life together!

Hi hun, thanks for your reply

Yeah - sorry, by top up fees I meant out of pocket expenses, yet another English/Australian difference!! I'm eligable to join medicare and will be doing that asap once we've landed, along with a huge list of other things. The first couple of days in the country aren't going to be relaxed at all!!