Thread: Introducing....Twomums!

Wink Introducing....Twomums!

Hi Girls

Better late than never!! My name is Megan and my partner Kim and I have been tring to conceive since June 2006. I started out by self -funding 3 x IUI with an anon. donor at QFG with Dr Hynes, then went on to do 3 x IVF cycles with Kim being my Egg Donor on the last cycle, all with no luck. I still have a strong desire to have a child, although that has been put on the backburner until next year when our private health insurance waiting period is over in May.

In the meantime Kim took over trying to conceive via IUI with the same donor and was lucky to conceive on the 2nd attempt!! Unfortunately she had some spotting at 6 weeks that ended up being diagnosed as a large Subchorionic Hematoma. We had an ultrasound every 3 days, the first one showed the heartbeat and the second one showed it again, so we thought we were going to be ok, then the third one showed the heatbeat had slowed almost to a standstill and the last one showed no heartbeat so we slowly lost the baby by 8 weeks.

Kim had to have a D&C and so we had the baby tested for look for chromosome problems, but she was a perfect little 46XX!

Since then Kim has done 3 cycles of clomid and IUI and another cycle of injectables and IUI with no luck. So we are on a 3 month break due to our plans to travel to Malta (where kim is from) in June/July next year for her sisters wedding. We figured if she were lucky enough to conceive anywhere between Sept-Dec 07 she would be too pregnant to board the plane next year.

So in the meantime we are trying to lose some weight (these fertility drugs really pack it on huh?) and hold out until January!! Not much longer, one month almost down and two to go til Kim can try again... If she doesnt conceive before we go to Malta, I am going to try IVF again, this time with some financial help from our private health fund.