Thread: Making and playing music

Question Making and playing music

Hi BB'ers,

I have been playing music since I started playing piano along with the radio at the age of 4. I was forced into lessons until I went to high school and never appreciated the importance of practise and scales: I just wanted to do it straight away. Well, that worked, didn't it! So in high school I was sent to guitar lessons, which was probably more important to where I am now because, during high school, I met other guitarists and, before long, was playing bass.

That was when I was 15. I am now mumble-mumble and haven't been in a band since 2006 but, believe me, I've had some incredible experiences along the way, most good but, more recently, not that good. But meanwhile there are four guitars* and a bass-rig sitting in there not being used.

Are there any like-minded BB'ers out there with a passion for making music, playing music, or just picking a tune out on your instrument of choice?

* 1. Mum's first acoustic guitar, a Yamaha 6string, from about 1973 [ETA - she took this one back over Xmas, saying that she wanted to learn again. So the count is now 3 guitars, as below, and a bass-rig]
    2. My baby, a 1973 Gibson Grabber, blond, in a road-case MrsP gave me for my 40th birthday
    3. A night-burst (black into grey) Onyx acoustic electric given me by MrsP for my 24th birthday
    4. My latest acquisition, which happened by accident. Put simply, it's a Fender Squire P-bass, black with white scratch-plate, 40th-anniversary model with a dead-spot. Because it's a mistaken purchase, getting it fixed is a low priority.
    [ETA - it's a 50th anniversary model, and there is nothing wrong with it! Now it has a nice new case and a couple of straps, thanks to MrsP over Xmas ... some people simply appreciate talent!]
    Last edited by montyp; January 11th, 2009 at 01:29 PM.

I am now mumble-mumble
    Ah dude, your age is in your signature.

Anyway. Enough picking on people I don't know.