Thread: Melbourne to Merimbula and stops in between

Default Melbourne to Merimbula and stops in between

Hi

In a few weeks we are driving from Melbourne to Merimbula for a holiday. We plan to do it in a day, leaving Melbourne between 5-5:30am. I have two high-energy little boys (2 & 4 years old) and am looking for suggestions re: stops directly on route (don't want to add time) that will allow for play/run around as well as eating stops. So throw me your playground, footie oval etc. ideas as well as restaurant/cafe names (breakfast/lunch). We are hoping to make it to Bairnsdale for breakfast but that may be overly ambitious so if you know of a good place before then, let me know. By the way, I've never done this before and have little knowledge about the whole route - it's just that someone said to me "oh, Bairnsdale for breakfast". We hope to get to Merimbula by 3-3:30pm (we've estimated 10.5 hours with stops).

Thank you!

Default Re: Melbourne to Merimbula and stops in between

I love Merimbula, such a great holiday spot! We've done Melbourne to Merimbula twice now, once when DD was 3 and again when she was 4. We stop twice, first in Rosedale for brekkie/morning tea at the Bakery, it has absolutely everything. Then we stop for lunch at the Marlo pub. Not sure if your boys have day sleeps, but DD would sleep after lunch the rest of the way to Merimbula. We also had a couple of toilet stops along the way, mostly at the rest stops, or on the side of the road if DD was busting. All up it takes us about 8 hrs. Hope that helps

Thanks! My little one still does a day sleep but doesn't like sleeping in the car. My 4 year old doesn't need a day sleep (it delays his night bedtime) yet zonks out in a car!