Thread: Did I ruin my new nappies?

Default Did I ruin my new nappies?

Hi there,

I'm new to everything baby. I just bought some cushie tushies at the baby expo. I went into my automatic washing regime which is to include fabric softener in each load so I put this in with the nappies as well. I then read on the cushie instructions that I should use fabric softener.

Can anyone tell me if I have ruined the nappies and if there is anything I should do to rectify the problem if I have created one?

Thanks

I doubt they're ruined,they just wont be as absorbent because you've added oil to them. You need to do a strip wash or two (hot wash with no detergent) and that should clear them out.

Quote Originally Posted by meow View Post
    I doubt they're ruined,they just wont be as absorbent because you've added oil to them. You need to do a strip wash or two (hot wash with no detergent) and that should clear them out.
    :yeahthat:

A couple of strip washes should do the trick. They normally take a couple of washes before they become fully absorbant anyway

:yeahthat:
    TBH I think they'll be fine. New fabric comes with a film of sorts on it anyway.
    In the first strip wash just put a couple of drops (only a tiny bit not a couple of squirts) of dishwashing liquid in and use hot water and make sure they're rinsed a couple of times.
    You'll get the hang of them real quick babe.

I think I'll go against the grain here. They are new naps, so I wouldn't be washing them in hot water.
    I have never used CT, do they have PUL in their makeup? If so, I def wouldn't strip wash them.

Nappies take 8-10 washed to get them to full absorbancy, and you usually do afew pre-washes before wear anyway.
    I'd be inclined to do afew regular pre-washes and then use the nap BEFORE trying a strip wash.

Thanks for your quick responses, glad to hear I haven't ruined them.

Miss Cinders - I'm not sure what PUL is. It has a fluffy cover.

Quote Originally Posted by Lisa B View Post