Thread: MCNs and grey water recycling

Default MCNs and grey water recycling

Hi,
    I am new to cloth and have purchased a few pocket nappies. I am also thinking about reusing the grey water on my garden. I'm just wondering about a couple of things:

firstly: are there any health issues as you are effectively pumping diluted faecal matter onto your garden? (not all that concerened as lots of animals including my own dog poop into gardens all the time)

secondly: i have a top loader. does anybody have any top-loader detergent suggestions that would be fine for reuse as grey water on the garden?

thanks heaps,
    Sasa

cant answer definitely re using recycled pooey water...am guessing if you put the wash water down the sink and just let the rinse water go on the garden itd be ok!
    I have a top loader and we use Green Care laundry liquid (there is also a front loader version now so make sure u get the right one), I buy the big packs from Big W cause is cheaper. we use all the wash water (no kids yet so our clothes arent exactly really dirty lol) on the garden, mainly on our plum tree and a couple of other trees and none have died from it!

I like to put it this way - Compost and fertiliser are made from faeces, Have you ever smelt blood and bone fertiliser? It is disgusting!! Many remote farmers pump their septic tanks onto their produce (trust me, they did it on the vineyards at our old house!) and we eat that. Personally i find that many people are only disgusted by putting their own faecal matter on the garden because they know where it came from. But they will happily use fertiliser and commercial compost.

I have used Earth's Choice (it has optical brighteners so not recommended) and am about to switch to Green Care. Anything that is fine for grey water will be marked to say that it is.

good point alioops! and we let the cats and dogs poop in the garden dont we! duh!!