Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Cloth Nappy Making #5

Default Cloth Nappy Making #5

This is a thread for those who sew their own nappies to discuss techniques and materials and share hints and tips.

Your moderating/admin team for this forum are:

Astrolady -
    Sammi-j -
    Tanya -

For basic cloth nappy information, please checkout the Cloth Nappy Information sticky.

Previous thread HERE
    Last edited by Tanya; May 11th, 2009 at 08:26 AM.

Were you going to close the old thread Tan? :P

I'm with you on the motivation, cutting material's the hardest part for me, booooring. But once everything's set up, your material's ready and you have some time to yourself with some music playing, it's good fun!

Gigi is offline BellyBelly Life Member - Love all your MCN friends
    Add Gigi on Facebook

Tanya - are you an experienced sewer with new machines?
    or a newbie with new machines?

i'm a newbie
    if that is you too, i would suggest, you get an old flannelette sheet, cut up liners and practise overlocking on liners - i do double layer - great for nappy rash times, and now we use them for day time fitteds - but i digress, i found overlocking loads of liners has refined my crap overlocking skills heaps - i can even do acceptable curves now!

if you already know what you're doing, well - i got nothing - cos the possibilities are endless!!! but MCN fabric is not cheap, so i'd prioritise according to what your baby actually needs.

Thanx Nelle... I am really dumb lately!!

Gigi... I have made a few things with the machines.... but yeah, I am just a beginner

I have recently come to realise that most of my cloth nappies are irritating Bonnie's thighs! The nappies that don't are all pockets.. so I guess that's what I need to be making.

Does anyone have a pattern? Maz

Tanya

ETA... Do I have to use PUL... can fleece work?
    ETAM... I see they have a couple of patterns on the Nappy Network... has anyone used them? Are they any good?