Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Meal Planning

Just signing up to pick up some tips.

If Lucy is still on BB can you give us all some of your 40 meal ideas?

Or anyone else for that matter. Maybe if everyone sticks up all the recipes they put in their meal planner and we could swap recipes or something, I'm just new to meal planning so will need a bit of help getting started!

I love meal planning...I'm doing it right now LOL. I usually only do a 7 day meal rotation as it's just DF and I, so we don't need to be TOO organised. This week looks something like this:

Monday (tonight) Lamb Tagine
    Tuesday: Spicy sausage and goat's cheese with fettucine
    Wednesday: Beef Stroganof
    Thursday: Haven't decided yet, some variation of lamb chops
    Friday: Takeout, woohoo
    Saturday: Home-made pizza night, probably a salmon, caper, marscepone pizza, a zucchini and sundried tomato and a mediterainian lamb and rockette. Nom.
    Sunday: Pfft, whatever. Feeling lazy. Thai chicken and noodle salad probably.

I usually just look at what we have in the pantry and base it off of that. Atm I'm cooking our meals at my mums house because she's overseas and my 18 yo brother wont feed himself if I don't cook DF and I usually buy meat in a fortnightly or monthly shop in bulk from the market and freeze into portions (for example, if mince is on special in bulk, we'll get it and divide it into 1 meal portions and freeze in bags). We keep the pantry items updated regularly and constantly add to what we have so that we have a broad range of things. We tend not to buy greens etc in a weekly shop, we usually pick up one or two nights worth of fresh ingredients on the day we need them as we have Footscray market right on the way home, and I've found with the way I plan our meals it works out cheaper to simply pick up (for example) two carrots and a lime than buy a big bag of carrots, because they'd probably not get used as well itms?