Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loon ... I mean loom bands

Default Loon ... I mean loom bands

Hello, the tide of inevitability has washed over me, and I am about to try out loom bands for the first time.

I've seen a squillion different kits & sets - what should I be looking for? Are some brands better than others? Would love to hear your recommendations & where the best place is to get them.

Default Re: Loon ... I mean loom bands

I only got one to compare which is the lindcraft rainbow band ones.

Not too bad for $5 and comes with 600 bands and 24 S hooks.

Im a novice though and can only do the fish tail and normal pattern lol

Definitely go for the original Rainbow loom kit. The bands are latex free and honestly, they are the best quality ones out there - the other ones start to perish and split after only a few weeks and they just don't cut the mustard. The loom frame is also a higher quality than the cheap ones - I originally got the girls the 'funloom' brand sold through BigW and they are starting to break and the pins bend when we have done some of the more complicated designs that put a higher amount of tension on the pins when you are looming the band up. I looked at the lincraft bands and even in the packet you can see that they are already perishing - not worth the $3 you pay for them when you can spend an extra $2 per packet and get higher quality ones in the Rainbow loom brand. Spotlight has the Rainbow loom kits for $20 which comes with 600 bands to get you started and you can also buy them online as well.

I just got DD a kit from our local cheap shop. It seems to be ok. She also gets her bands from there too and we've never had any issues. If I thought she was going to be using it for a long time to come, I'd spend more and get her a better quality one but I'm not really into spending too much on fads.