Thread: Weaning 15mth old - advice please!

Default Weaning 15mth old - advice please!

*sigh*

It is with heavy heart (that sounds so trite compared to how I actually feel about it) I have decided to wean Jack in the short term. We need to wean before we can have IVF again, anyway, but I was happy enough to take my time until now. I'm at the end of my chain. I've really loved our breastfeeding relationship until recently, but I'm just not enjoying it any more. I've been feeding exclusively from one breast for 10 months because of breast refusal. That was never really a problem until he gets colds or starts teething. This week, he's doing both. Consequently, my one functioning boob (& nipple) isn't getting a break when he starts biting, or being lazy with his teeth. I'm developing a wound on my areola from his teeth. I was doing Dr Jay's night weaning until this cold (then I thought it wasn't fair to not feed him when he has a sore throat), but I reinstated it last night (resulting in me not getting any sleep, AND dropping my bundle at ABA meeting today...) because it just hurt too much.

So, while I apologise for not making much sense right now (too emotional for proof reading & editing), I would like some advice for weaning on the short term. I simply can't do a long & drawn out 'replace the least needed feed'. It hasn't worked yet as Jack claims to need all of them. And I can't possibly keep going like this. I feel like I'm back to the muddy PND days.

Thanks. (where's the smilie for 'sobbing like a lost lamb'??)

Oh you poor thing... you sound at the end of your tether!

How was the ABA meeting today - apart from dropping your bundle? Which I'm sure they totally wouldn't have cared about...

Did you get any help from the counsellor there? Was there a counsellor there?