Thread: Dental, Abcess, 5 weeks Pregnant

Question Dental, Abcess, 5 weeks Pregnant

Hoping some of the girls here can help me help a friend. A friend came and asked me some questions thinking I'd know the answer since I'm a nurse. But all things dental I tune out. I am a major dental phobe and could never even do dental lists .

So, my friend's dilema is this (she is also a dental phobe).

She is 5 weeks pregnant and has had a hell of a time getting pregnant. A few weeks ago she had a toothache around a tooth she broke a few years ago but had rebuilt. She went to the dentist today and they said the tooth is dead. Non responsive to percussion and CO2. They offered a root canal but she tried one once before and couldn't go through with it. The other option is to have the tooth removed (it's a back molar on the bottom). The dentist won't do it in the chair because of roots or something and the tooth is brittle. And my friend is a complete phobe. They want her to go to a dental surgeon who can do it in the chair (she's been to him before).

BUT (and here's where all you lovelies come in!) the dentist said there are risks associated with having the tooth out. Pregnancy related risks but didn't go into it further (other than hinting miscarriage or affecting development). But leaving the tooth and risking infection could be just as bad for the baby. The referal indicates she *may* have the beginnings of an abcess or something else that started with a p (can't remember now). The dentist also refused to do a filling she needed until she hits second trimester.

So. What are the risks? Why can't you have a filling in first trimester? What are the risks of having the tooth pulled under local in a chair?

My friend was given a script for AB's incase her tooth gets worse. She hasn't filled it because it's ok at the moment. But she is petrified of seeing the surgeon tomorrow (just to look) and wants to be a little prepared. What can I tell her? I don't understand the risks.

TIA