Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Charlotte

Default Charlotte

We are expecting our first baby in February and have started tossing around name ideas. At the moment I am concentrating on finding a girl name, after which we will pick a boy name (I find it easier to concentrate on one at a time).

We are having quite a few troubles as many of the names I like DH doesn't (I like some 'different' but I feel nice names, such as Hallie, Ayla, Eilish etc - I think it comes from being a teacher, I hear some 'common' names all the time).

Anyway, the current name that we are throwing around is Charlotte. I like the fact that it can be shortened to Charli or Lotte (although DH is not a fan of Lotte).

From what I've read it has been popular for a few years yet I don't actually know anyone with this name; adult or child.

Anyway, what I want to know is what do you think of this name and would you, as an adult, be happy if this was your name??

I love it

FYI it means "Little womanly one" and found that even though we picked it at about 5 months in (it just struck us instantly and was never thought of not naming her Charlotte) as soon as we met her, it describes her to a tea

Good luck!
    Last edited by LimeSlice; July 6th, 2010 at 04:09 PM. Reason: lol forgot half the sentence

I really like Charlotte, it has always been on my list as like long pretty names that are preferably old fashioned. DH does not like it though.

Default Charlotte

I like it and a gorgeous bub in my mothers group is called Charlotte, but, a girl I went to school with got called Charlotte the harlot which has spoilt it for me!

feeb is offline Thankful for the kindness of my 2012 RAK making me Life member

I have always loved it and I always suggested it to DH he was never keen said Charlotte the harlot!! But we never needed a girls name as we are blessed with 2 boys!

Thanks for the opinions.