Thread: baby wearing = delayed milestones?

clare076 Guest

Default baby wearing = delayed milestones?

Can baby wearing cause a delay in babies reaching milestones, for example rolling over?
    Samuel was a very (and I stress very!) unsettled baby for the first 3 and a half months of his life, to the extent where I could not put him down. I have literally held that child since the day he was born - noon and night.
    It hasonly been in the past 2 weeks that he has been on the floor for any length of time and now its almost like he doesn't know what he is supposed to do down there.
    Can the fact that I "wore" him for 14 weeks slow him down on reaching milestones or does it not matter?

clare I wouldn't think so - although I have no professional knowledge - Jake was a very bad reflux baby and never did tummy time until he chose to once he started sitting up. Even then after a few minutes on his tummy he would scream the house down. As for his milestones his head raising ones were way behind initially but he was walking his trolley around at 9 months and now is fine. In my opinion they adapt to the situation. HTH to put your mind at ease.

I wear DS still.

Head raising pretty much from birth
    Rolling over 8w
    Sitting up 5m-ish
    Walking holding on 6.5m
    Cruising 8.5m
    Walking unaided 9m (although he's still wobbly and prefers cruising).

He also has six words now (daddy, mummy, hi, hug, yes and no) and understands a lot more.

DS also hasn't crawled at all, he went straight for walking. To encourage crawling you can gently play opposites with his limbs (bring his right foot and left hand together a few times, then left foot and right hand), but tbh babies will do what they do when they do it, not when we want them to. DS will try to walk in the carrier, which can get a bit painful, or climb up over my shoulder if I'm holding him. It really hasn't delayed him at all.