Thread: Giving B/F bub formula (night only) - does it help them sleep through?

Default Giving B/F bub formula (night only) - does it help them sleep through?

Cooper is breastfed, and from 8 weeks he slept through 12 hours without feed. Then 4 months started to have one in the night, and the other night had 2! He is on 3 big meals a day, but I am wondering now if maybe he is not getting enough of my milk to keep him satisfied.

So I am wondering if it may be worth trying formula just for before he goes to bed. Does anyone know whether this may also help him to sleep through the night?

Do you think it's your supply? Have you tried anything to increase it?
    I have no experience with formula...but I probably wouldn't be giving him formula simply to get him sleeping through the night. What if he decides he suddenly prefers formula to breastmilk? Are you prepared to stop breastfeeding (worse case scenario?) just to get him sleeping through?

I have thought about whether I have enough milk too. Hard to monitor though! He has about 6 feeds in 24 hours. I would prefer to breastfeed, and I am mainly thinking of it just in case he isn't getting enough...and if it means that he sleeps through - even better.

Part of me wants to know if other mums out there had babies that preferred formula to breastmilk also when they did this. I would prefer him to have breastmilk though (even if it means he doesn't sleep through).

I have heard of it working for some - formula is harder to digest and so sits in their tummy for longer. I've also heard of it not making any difference. TBH I don't know what I would do in that situation, but I wish you all the best as you make your decision... and sending some sleepy vibes to Cooper