Thread: Hates Tummy Time......

Unhappy Hates Tummy Time......

Hi all,

I have been trying tummy time with Aiden each day and he just screams I have tried lying down with him, rubbing his back telling him its ok, trying to sooth him but nothing works!!! He does suffer from reflux (not too bad) could tummy time hurt his little belly???

Any advice/tips would be greatly appreicated... I know how important tummy time is...

Thanks a bunch
    Kez

try rolling up a small blanket or cloth nappy and place under his chest so he's elevated a little

Claire hated tummy time as well! Someone suggested to me to put her on her tummy on my tummy while I'm lying down, but for me to be reclined a bit. Hope that makes sense. I'm not very good at explaining things.

She was able to roll from tummy to back from about 3 months but I think it was about 5 months until she didnt scream every time I put her on her tummy!

DS hated tummy time, then when he started to roll at about 14 weeks he would rather be on his tummy now than his back!!!
    I would try the towel thing and see how you go, some babies just hate tummy time and nothing will help.
    Good luck

FluffyLaRue Guest

Not one of my 4 have enjoyed tummy time at first, but once their muscle tone improves they enjoy propping themselves up and looking around. I'm not sure about a towel? It may be counter productive as tummy time helps them develop muscle tone and head control.

Hi,

DS hated it aswell so I used to put him on a pillow so it didn't hurt his tummy. It's only now at 4 months that he will stay like it but he still whinges after about a minute. Maybe just start with 10 seconds and build it up each day.

Jesse hated it also, so i didnt push it too much. He did everything the same time if not earlier than those at his age.