Thread: The Joy of a good Toy!

getbabystar Guest

Default The Joy of a good Toy!

When was the last time you bought a nice little toy for your child? Recently I got a toy for my kid as a little surprise and he got really happy. As parents, I feel that its important to show our love and affection not just by words but also through small gestures. I am not a materialistic person but its also important to give your child something that he can relate to. I am talking about this as someone from my family thought that I was spoiling my kid.

Give me your take on this.......

I do like to buy things for my boys as a reward or sometimes just because.
    It is hard though because due to an over enthusiastic Grandma they do not really appreciate it when they get something because it happens a bit too often from her end.

NewmumLou Guest

I tend to buy a small token gift for Josh if i am out shopping and i see that he likes something. Being an early childhood teacher i try to buy education things such as books, flashcards or puppets or maybe a bright coloured toy that Josh liked. If we have the opportunity to give to our kids things why hold back?especially if it gives them are start in life. At the end of the day it is how you teach them to look after thier toys and accept them isnt it?

I don't very often at all. I saw what happened with my cousins and my godfather's children that were given things all the time. Birthdays & Christmas' aren't as special to them as they had everything they wanted when they asked for it.

If Zander is going to get a "present" out of the blue I'll let him take some money from his money box & spend that. He loves to put his coins in his pocket & pay the lady at the shop. Depending on what it is, I'll add to his money but it's never anything more than about $15. Just last week he found 60c on my dresser & asked to spend it, so we went to the shops & he picked out some playdoh & cutters that were $5 so he spent his money on that.