Thread: New Member

melsimon Guest

Smile New Member

Hi, I've never done this before so please bear with me. I have a newborn son, Benjamin, he is 17 days old today and he is adorable. I was just wondering how do you cope with a newborn that just wont sleep during the days? In the last 3 days i'm lucky if he gets a 1 hour sleep between 9am and 5pm. He is drinking/feeding all the time but just wont doze off the sleep all he does is cry and scream. Has anyone got any ideas of what i can do to stop him crying and having a good sleep?

Will he have a lap-nap while you put your feet up and watch TV?
    You might want to try a sling or maybe lying down next to him and both having a nap together.
    I used to pop my babies in the pram and go for a walk sometimes. The motion would often help them doze off and the walk was good for my mental health.

I'm just going to move this into baby and toddler for you.
    Welcome to BB by the way

melsimon Guest

Yeah he will go to sleep while im BF him but as soon as you put him down he just cries.
    Its all a bit confusing, this is our first child and trying to workout his cries and what he wants is all too much sometimes, but we are getting there.
    I think i will go out an buy a sling, sounds like that might be a good idea.
    Thanks for the tips will let u know how i go
    Thanks dachlostar

Hi my DS is about 3 1/2 months old now and I am still working out when he is tired.

Sometimes they don't sleep because they have a little wind, and sometimes it's because they are just way overtired.