Thread: 3hr 1st labour, scared 2nd will be at home

ttcno2 Guest

Default 3hr 1st labour, scared 2nd will be at home

my first child was born after a 3 hour labour, and im due in august this year.
    im scared how fast it is going to be...mostly scared ill be home, or be on my own.
    is there anyway i can get some info about what to do - if this happens, and of course it may not - if i am on my own..i mean what are the basics i should know about birth without a midwife/doctor..iykwim

I'm no expert, but I think even with a quick first labour & birth, you might have a longer one second time around? (I know my Mum did, she went 2 hrs, 2.5hrs, 20mins, 3hrs with her 4 births)

Perhaps when you book in at your hospital, you can talk to the midwives there about whether they're happy for you to come in immediately as soon as you know you're in labour, given your history?

Maybe arm yourself with plenty of information? Most first aid books discuss emergency deliveries; and there is always '000' to talk you through it. And if in doubt and you dont think you're gonna make it to the hospital - call an ambulance.

Also, can you have someone on call? Do you have a friend or family member nearby that you can call on to come straight over?

my labours were 3hrs 20 mins, and 4hrs 10 mins. (My third was emerg c/s at 30 weeks) so mine got longer... my advice is to have a ambulance membership!!

ttcno2 Guest

hmm, good point about the ambulance membership simone! might check that now..
    its good to hear 2nd labours that werent shorter...everyone said last time how lucky i was, and i know i was in many ways, but it was also a bit traumatic as i didnt have any break between contractions at all, just woke up and bang, agony for the whole time and i felt quite freaked out and out of control..