Thread: Link between treatment for abnormal cells and C/S???

Question Link between treatment for abnormal cells and C/S???

The more I think about the more I need to get down and debrief my birth in detail but more of that later.

What I have been wondering and I'm no doctor obviously but has there ever been a link made between people having biopsies and laser treatment for abnormal cells in the cervix after pap smears, and a higher c /s rate?

I wonder if that is why after 36 hours of EVERYTHING(gel, ARM, Syntocin, Epidural) and getting to almost 10cms that the dr said no you can't push, your cervix is (posterior/high and a number of other things I can't remember) plus she was still posterior and only 3/5 engaged.

I realise there are many other factors with my birth but I wonder if the treatment I have had previously may have impacted on what happened?

Any thoughts experience appreciated!

Last edited by Beach Mama; November 16th, 2007 at 01:10 PM.

I don't know Tan, but here's my experience.

I have had two lots of treatment on my cervix for CIN. My cervix dilated at a 'normal' rate during labour, especially considering he was posterior. 9 hours from start of contrax until fully dilated. The problems I had during the second stage were due to Nicky being malpositioned, nobody mentioned anything to do with my cervix.

But I'm just one example, who knows, there might be something in your theory!

paradise lost Guest