Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Something interesting (and sad) I found out...

Tigergirl1980 Guest

Quote Originally Posted by BellyBelly
    Just read this from a midwife:

Hi,

I was a student at a large Adelaide hospital and last year I witnessed
    most of the midwives staying at the front desk for most of the time watching 'their' women's CTGs.

I found it appalling - that we as students were observing this as modern midwifery management; that the women were treated with such lack of compassion and skill; that this was a large teaching hospital - no wonder most of the young doctors have no idea about normal birth. Needless to say I complained to appropriate sources and have refused to revisit that hospital for a clinical placement.

Let me get a sore back and dirty knees any day and maybe I'd also have some idea of the woman I was assisting through birth and some idea of how I could help her achieve what she wanted.

Sue
    Wow, that's fantastic. All of the midwifes I had were fantastic as I said but from reading some of the stories on here I think there need to be a lot more like Sue and the ones that I had.

Yeah I had fantastic ones too. In fact one told DH off for trying to adjust the strap saying his job was to look after me.

aaaggh yuck!!! I hate monitering - it makes me feel so trapped. I swear that every time I have had one of those things strapped to me my labours have slowed - and now they've invented a machine that will no doubt make monitering easier and hence increase its use.
    Then again there was another woman in hospital who had a an emergency c-section at the same time as me. The moniter picked up that her babies' heartbeat was dropping and she was rushed to surgery. It turned out that he son's cord was wrapped around his neck and each contraction was squeezing the cord tighter so there was less blood/oxygen getting through to her baby. Without monitering it could have died so she probably loves the horrible machine.