Thread: For those who had SPD/severe pelvic pain during pregnancy

Default For those who had SPD/severe pelvic pain during pregnancy

*Mods wasn't sure where to put this!*

For those of you who suffered from SPD or severe pelvic pain during your pregnancy, how long did it take you (if at all) to feel normal again?

Mine started at 18 weeks, I'm now 33 weeks and I am getting depressed at the thought that I will NEVER be rid of this. I've gone from a quite active person, going to the gym 3 - 4 times a week, walking every day... to not being able to do ANYTHING!!!!

Hi mate,
    I didn't have SPD but had an unstable pelvis through my second pregnancy which was helped with a support belt.
    I'm no expert, but I would think it's likely to hang around until after the birth. I can well imagine how depressing it would be for an active person such as yourself to have to take it easy. Do you go to a physio regularly? They may be able to recommend an exercise program for you. Pilates is BRILLIANT for core strengthening which will be really helpful to you in your recovery post-birth and is a great treatment for mechanical back pain (which may or may not be a problem for you in time to come in association with your unstable pelvis).
    Chronic pain can be very depressing, however you can rest assured that your pain is to do with your pregnancy and all going well will come to an end once your baby is out. GL with everything.

Big Hugs Zinnia, I was in the same situation last pregnancy. I was on crutches at one stage, but I was able to have a VBAC just using the gas. The pain eased up pretty quickly, I was fine by the time I got out of hospital after four days, my stitches bothered me more. I haven't had any signs of it this time, not sure why as I had it with both girls. Inbetween pregnancies there was no sign of it.