Thread: Squirming and fidgeting at the breast

Default Squirming and fidgeting at the breast

DS is 6 weeks old and for the past few days he has been squirming and fidgeting during feeds.

About 5 minutes into the feed, he screws up his nose, pushes his face into my breast and tries to curl his body up, then he pulls back like he is stretching out. He makes grunting and cooing noises while he does this. If he comes off, he will shake his head and root for my nipple again and keep on feeding.

He doesn't seem to be upset at all as he doesn't cry but it's just frustrating because he's taking longer to feed. He is still having plenty of wet and pooey nappies and he is content after feeds most of the time.

Any ideas on why he is doing this?

I'm no expert ... have only been BFing for a few months myself ... but I've had similar issues on and off with my son. A few things I've worked out which relate to us:
    (a) wet nappy - If he's got a wet nappy he'll squirm and wriggle. I always change his nap before a feed.
    (b) strong flow of milk - near the start of a feed, DS sometimes needs a little 'breather' if my milk is flowing strongly. He squirms, screws up his face, pulls off and then immediately wants to reattach. When this happens I always squirt milk all over him as he pulls off .
    (c) milk flow slows - happens more near the end of a feed, but if my milk flow slows down and he needs to suck a little harder, he will sometimes squirm and wriggle.

Most of our feeds took up to 40-50 mins until approx 8-10 weeks, when suddenly 20 mins was all he needed to fill up. Can only suggest you sit down in front of the telly or have a good book on hand to pass the time.

I reckon most bubs probably squirm and wriggle around a bit on the boob from time-to-time, but if he's happy and producing enough wet/pooey nappies, then you and he are certainly doing something right! Good luck.

Andie