Thread: CCB and Shift Work

Default CCB and Shift Work

Hoping someone can help me out with some info or point me in the right direction...

Last year at the Pregnancy, Baby, and Child Expo, DH and I were told that as I do Shift Work, we are entitled to a higher CCB or some sort of extra payment if we hire a private nanny. Does anyone know anything about this or can shed some light on this for me?

TIA

MG

Hi there

My partner is a shift worker and I've never heard that we're entitled to a higher CCB.

Mind you, I'm new to all this ... we're about to start using care next month.

However, you might like to know that if one of you is a shiftworker, you are eligible for a program called in-home care. It's not widely publicised - I only found out by accident when ringing around childcare centres.

Basically it's a Commonwealth Government program that is provided, in our case, by our local childcare centre.

We are getting a carer into our home for 3 part-days one week and two fullish days the next. We just have to let them know a few weeks in advance what hours we will require each day. There's a 3-hour minimum but no minimum over the week.

The rate is $20 per hour but FACS have told me I will get $10 back with the new 50% rebate (or benefit, I get confused with the new terminology) so in effect it's $10 per hour which will be reimbursed quarterly. For us, that's not much more expensive than 5 days of childcare in a centre because we can't pay for part-days in a centre.

So, like using a nanny, except that we don't have to pay an agency fee or don't have to do police checks ourselves if we employed one privately. Plus, if our carer is sick the centre will obviously cover her with a different carer.