Thread: Best time to temp

Default Best time to temp

Morning all,

First time doing this so just have a quick question on temping - When is the best time to take your temp? Is it as soon as you wake up? Because I have been doing it first time I get up in the morning and my temp is quite high (36.7 & 36.8) or are the temps normal? I get quite hot while I sleep at night, would this have any affect on getting a good temp?

Also, I think I am going to be having inconsistant times when temping. During the week I get up at 5.30am and on the weekends I get up around 7.00am. Is this going to cause my data to be inaccurate?

Thanking you all for you help in advance!

im not a pro on temping cuz i have just started myself but i know in the morning is the best time when you wake and you need to have at 3 hours of solid sleep before you temp, which can sometimes be hard im sure, and im pretty sure you need to take your temp at the same time each morning. hope i was of some help

Thanks for your answer renee84

I think I will start trying to temp at the same time each day. I usually wake up around 5.30am on weekends during the summer anyways (Sun shines right in to the bedroom!) So it could mean to last 2 temps I did where wrong because I was not fully asleep before I got up, just dosing I guess.

Thanks again

Ngala
    If you wake at 5.30am on weekdays then I would be setting the alarm for 5.30am on weekends as well. It is important to try and take your temp at the same time everyday if at all possible. Otherwise you get a yo-yo effect and it makes it really hard to track what is happening.

I got into the habit of taking my temperature when I was 3/4s asleep after awhile. My thermometer beeped at me to take it out, and often I wouldn't even open my eyes but just chuck it on the bedside table and read it later on when I woke up properly.