Thread: Ovulation/BBT Kit and irregular period

Question Ovulation/BBT Kit and irregular period

Hello all,

I'm newbie here, and I have no idea when to test ovulation kit and have effective conception. We protected our conception for many years and we just had unprotected conception on Jun 30 & Jul 1, 2010.

Due to our work that we have to travel in the unsafe/risk areas/countries (advised to take anti-malaria pills, we thought of having a stop of TTC since Jul 1, 2010, but we want to TTC again after we leave those risk countries (we were advised to take anti-malaria pills for the next 3-7 days after leaving).

We want to adopt the method of having baby girl by using ovulation kit and basal thermometer, and we want to make it work to be due on my husband's Birthday next year(Apr 2011). I am 27 years old and have had irregular period.I have never had any regular contraceptive pills as we have been always protecting it, but I took urgent contraceptive pills(2 pills a day) for 6 days on May2-7,2010 then stopped since that. The below are my past period cycles;

1-6 Nov,09
    11-16 Dec,09
    25-30 Jan,10
    20 Feb-11 Mar,10
    4-10 Apr,10
    23-29 Apr,10
    11-16 May,10
    4-26 Jun,10
    26 Jul- now (would probably finish by 31Jul)

1) Could you please tell me when is my period cycle? Which date is the day 1 of my first period?

2)Due to our travels in risk areas/countries, we want to know if it is safe to conceive right away after we leave those countries and after we finish taking the anti-malaria pills? (3-7 days taking pills still after leaving the risk countries). If we have to wait for TTC while I have to let the anti-malaria pills gone from the body first in order to avoid birth defect/miscarriage then how long should I wait for?