Thread: Questions (beginner here, so dont laugh!)

Default Questions (beginner here, so dont laugh!)

So we are going to start TTC (as you might have seen in my sig)
    Anyway, i think i might try charting. I am on the pill now, but prior to that have always had irregular cycles, so i wouldnt have the faintest when i'd be o-ing. (not that i'd know anyway, but an irregular cycle would just make it inconvenient to count days and stuff)

Any way, you all seem to take your temperature - is there any specific spot on your body i should be taking my temperture, or will any where do?

Should i get a special thermometer, or will a regular one do? I dont even think we hve one anyway, so regardless i am going to have to buy one.

What is the best time of day to read my temperature and record the CM and all that??

Possibly more questions on the way, but this is all i can think of right now. And sorry if i am the millionth person to ask these

Hi Karina!

I take my temp orally with a BBT or Basal Body Temp thermometer. It is specifically designed to be sensitive enough to detect the temperature shifts during ovulation. It also measures to 2 decimal places which the other digital ones don't do.
    The reason I got one of those is that I'd have a few days in a row of recording the same temp of, for eg 36.8 but with the BBT one there is the second decimal place so then it will show 36.86, 36.81, 36.80. So temp is dropping but with the other type I don't know that and wonder why my temps look flat.

Take your temp around the same time every morning as soon as you wake up, before you get out of bed or undertake any activity and make a note of your CM during the day and recored your observations at the end of the day as it can change.
    Best of luck!

Hi Karina,

There not stupid questions, we all had to start somewhere!
    The best time to take your temp is the first thing in the morning after atleast 3 hours sleep, before you even get out of bed to go to the loo!!