Thread: What type of thermometer?

Default What type of thermometer?

I am relatively new to charting and have been using a regular digital fever thermometer. Just wondering if that is okay, or if I really should be using a BBT one?

Some ladies say it doesn't make a difference. Personally, I think it does. I had vastly different readings between a fever thermometer and a BBT thermometer. And even my GP says that the BBT thermometer is calibrated to be more sensitive to the slightest temperature shift.

Lisa

Sezjm
    a thermometer that goes to two decimal places is best. Also having one with a timer on it is good too so that everything is standard.

And a handy hint someone once gave me was to take your temp as soon as you open your eyes and BEFORE you open your mouth. So no speaking.

Thanks ladies, I think I will order a BBT thermometer, as mine only goes to one decimal place. May as well be getting it right from the start. Thanks for the tip too Kar. I had actually thought of that but wondered if I was being over the top! Glad to know I'm not! I just have to remember that now, I take my temp at 5.30am when DH goes to work as that's when I first wake. I definitely need a thermometer with timer otherwise I'd fall asleep with it in my mouth!

I just used a regular digital one. It wasnt specifically a BBT one.
    The one I used was about $12 from the chemist and it beeps when its time to read the temperature.