Thread: Bella's Plagiocephaly Update

Post Bella's Plagiocephaly Update

Hey All,

You may remebr that Bella was diagnosed with Plagiocephaly a few months ago and we went to see a Paed.

Well since then we have had a few skull x-rays at the hospital and we are back at the paed next week for another check up.

Today I recieved my appointment letter for the Plag Clinic at the RCH - May 27th - the Paed said that he thinks that her head will get better by its self and that she will not need a helmet - but we will go to the clinic and get her measured up so if in a little while she needs a helmet then it will just have to be made. He didnt call me after her head x-rays so I have taken that as a sign that they were ok - he would have called if they needed imidiate action - wount he??

I guess recieveing the refer to the RCH clinic has just bought back all the worry and stress for me... I really think that her head is getting better and rounding out... but Im no doctor.

The paed said that if her skull bones had started to fuse together then she would need an op to split them back up so that her skull would grow with her brain - if they were fused in the x-rays he would have let us know wouldnt he??

I am quite stressed about an operation.. I always imagine the worst happening - but babies have ops all the time right??

I am trying to be really positive and even if she needs a helmet I am dealing with that - the paed actually said that he would recomend her only wear it at bed time so no one would see it anyway.

So I guess I just need your good luck vibes for the next paed appoint and then the RCH appoint.

Thanks for reading.

Kate xox

Kate, It's hard not to worry about our children.
    It sounds like the Dr is happy with the way things are going or you would have heard straight away.
    With the referral they might have decided to get the measurements on file now and not have you go through the waiting time for another appointment down the track.