Thread: Chances of bubby getting chicken pox?

Default Chances of bubby getting chicken pox?

Hey guys,

Our mate has just told us that he has chicken pox. He came round on sunday (before the spots showed) and has just been diagnosed today, after having come out in spots yesterday.

What are the chances of our little one getting/ having them already?
    Thanks
    Sue x

Hmmm did he hold her or come into close contact with her? If he didn't I'd guess that she should be okay, but I believe that chicken pox does have a two or three week incubation period where you are contagious. If you think that he was in close contact with her it might be worth having a quick chat to your GP or even Nurse on Call so they can give you a good idea of what to look out for and how to handle it if she does come down with it. GL honey x

Hi Sue,

I'm not an expert, but my understanding is that your friend was probably contagious when he saw you on Sunday. Are you breast-feeding? And have you had chicken pox? My GP told me babies are generally protected by their mother's immunity until around 4-5 months old for most things.

Sorry I can't be more help. I know it must be a bit scary thinking about your little bub getting chicken pox. You could call the health line and ask them if you're worrying about it though - I think the number is 13 health.

I'm pretty sure it's just a few days before spots appear that a person would be contagious

Yeah, for a few days to a week prior to spots appearing a person is somewhat contagious, and after the spots have appeared contact with the fluid inside the blisters is very contagious.

Hello,