Thread: Seeking Prefold advice for newborn - 6 months

Default Seeking Prefold advice for newborn - 6 months

I've been reading the Help for New Users (cloth) pages and I think I will try prefolds for Phoenix to start with for the first few months. I have a few questions to help me start my own stash.

1. Is there much difference between cotton, bamboo and hemp for containing poo and wetness?
    2. Are they good to also use at night as in the day or do they need boosting & what would you boost them with?
    3. What are the best PULs to use with a prefold? Would 4 in each size suffice?
    4. Would an Eenie PUL be ok to use with prefolds?
    5. Are PULs the only way to use a prefold?
    6. A prefold looks very long for a newborn, do you fold it over at the front inwards or outwards or at the back?

Hi Dusty

I am new to cloth nappies but my little girl is almost 6 weeks old and we have been using prefolds during the day as our main nappy.

[LIST=1][*]Is there much difference between cotton, bamboo and hemp for containing poo and wetness?
    We bought the swaddlebees cotton prefolds andalso some bamboo ones. To be honest, we prefer the cotton ones even thought I would have thought they would be less absorbant. Both are really good and because of the cover, we haven't had any leaks at all. I actually have to make sure that the cover totally covers the prefold and it doesn't stick out over the cover or else the prefold absorbs the wee and the bit that sticks out over the cover makes her clothes wet.
    [*]Are they good to also use at night as in the day or do they need boosting & what would you boost them with?
    We don't use them at night but only because they are more difficult (in my opinion) to change and take longer. We use BBH at night time that snap. We boost them with either Peapods night boosters or BBH Bamboo fold ups.
    [*]What are the best PULs to use with a prefold? Would 4 in each size suffice?