Thread: What to put in my starter kit

Default What to put in my starter kit

I'm preparing slowly for the arrival of baby and I'm just wondering what kind of cloth nappy starter kit I should prepare before the arrival of my newborn? I'm a total newbie and I've been researching cloth nappies since before I was even pregnant.

I have:
    12 terry flats

Planning on buying:
    6 bumgenius V3 (includes 6 baby inserts and 6 regular inserts)
    6 Greenkids nappies (top up pack includes 1 greenkids insert)
    6 Baby beehinds PUL covers
    2 nappy buckets

What do I need in terms of wipes, wet bags, nappy bags etc? I am trying to be conservative and avoid blowing the budget. I'm sure that will come later when the addiction hits.

head to spotlight and grab some microfleece to make liner, they dont need any sewing just cutting, if you or someone you know sews then grab some flannalette to make some wipes!!

I liked all the same at first, now I like a mix of nappies depending on what we're doing that day.

I'd say you'll need 2 nappy buckets (so you aren't washing every day - 2 buckets is a full load for me). Flannels for washing the bum and a small pot for warm water - or just prepare the flannel before you remove the nappy. I use old plastic shopping bags as nappy bags when we're out for just a couple of hours as a "just in case" - they're free and you can throw them when you get home and take the nappy out.

I'd suggest about 30 nappies so if you can't wash one day you can wait a day without worrying about nappies.

Different types of nappies...

Grab some big one-size ones for night-times. OK, you'll change in the night more often at first but later on you don't want to be doing that. Maybe 4-5 of those, I'd recommend a nappy with attached liner that you can stuff up a bit, like a fluffle. And you won't need to replace these as your baby grows.

Grab 1-2 all in one nappies too. They're handbag sized and easier to change in a shopping centre.