Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Signs / Symptoms of Reflux

Default Signs / Symptoms of Reflux

Can someone please tell me what to look out for in terms of symptoms of reflux?? Alexzander has started to vomit after every bottle & is really unsettled when we lay him flat...

Melinda Guest

I'm no expert......Christy could probably help you more as Matilda had reflux I think. Jacob is a happy chucker (i.e. spews but doesn't have reflux).

I *think* that if your baby is projectile vomiting and is getting upset by it, then it may be reflux. They get upset by it because it burns their little throat, and they may need some medication to help them (I think Matilda had to have Mylanta or even something stronger like Zantac?).

wow Sarah thats weird, before I read this I just PM'd you about looking out for it because Zander sounds like he's doing things Matilda did... woah 8-[
    Matilda didn't vomit as much, but she had silent reflux and did projectiles on and off. From day one we couldn't lay her flat. She had a really unsettled belly too all the time. Her poos were inconsistent as well. She was bf and would scream heaps after feeds.

It does sound really familiar Sarah.... I didn't want to wish it on you iykwim, but I was reading how you were going and thinking it sounded pretty similar. keeping him inclined should help heaps, and try HA AR formula it is a partially digested thickened formula which really helps with reflux bubs and won't hurt him if he's not around here Amcal has it the cheapest.

I would agree with everyone else. And the fact that he slept on an incline suggests to me reflux too as lying flat makes wind more painful and spews more frequent

Goodluck!

*hugs*
    Cailin

Thanks guys We have the MCHN nurse coming tomorrow so will talok to her about it too.

I'll let you know how we get on....

Melinda Guest

How did you go Sarah?

Sorry Tootie forgot to update #-o