Thread: * Rhesys Factor

Chrissiegee Guest

Default * Rhesys Factor

Hi Everyone
    I'm quite new at this and wondering if anyone knows anything about the Rhesys factor. Am probably spelling that totally wrong but basically when you have negative blood.
    I am currently TTC our first child. About six years ago I suffered a miscarriage, but didn't know I was pregnant at the time, so didn't go to the DR until about 3 weeks later. Dr told me I needed an anti-D shot but said your supposed to have it within 72 hours, and since I had it 3 weeks late, said - and I quote - "this will cause any future children you concieve to have gross deformaties". I have since had second opinions who tell me this is wrong and yadda yadda. But still don't know much about it.

Anyone have any insight for me or have been through this themself?? Please help - I tend to work myself into a mental state with worry.

getinmybelly!! Guest

I am also rhesus negative.

Okay from what I know, say for example you have a baby with postive blood, which then bleeds in-utero.

Your body may form anitbodies to this blood type which in future pregnancies may mean that your body can reject the baby.

I had the anti-D after DD and now with this pg I have to be careful with any bleeding etc.

getinmybelly!! Guest

And also, check with your doctor but I am sure with your next pregnancy they will be very diligent with blood tests etc. They will know whether your body has built up antibodies etc.

Hugs...try not to worry. I'm sure it will all be fine

woozie Guest

Chrisiegee,
    just wanted to let you know that my mum is rhesis negative. She has had 3 healthy children, no deformaties at all.
    What a rotten Dr to say something as frightening as that to you.
    Good Luck on your ttc journey

*TamaraP* Guest

I just did a "google" search on this and I had no idea that I was rehsius negative. I remember my mum saying to me that nothing really happens unless your partner is also negative, is this true?