Thread: New to TTC

rugrats Guest

Default New to TTC

Hi guys. I'm Julie and I'm a newbie. My husband and I have just starting trying and it's all pretty new to me. There are so many terms etc but I'm getting there. He just had a vasectomy reversal so we're not even sure if it's 100% ok but we've got our fingers crossed [-o< Does anyone else know someone who's tried to conceive after a reversal? I can't seem to find much info on it, only the standard odds etc.

Kirsty77 Guest

Hi Julie

I know there is someone who's partner had one I just can't remember who it was!Hopefully they come in here and find your post!

we were considering the reversal but after discussions with our ob-gyn we decided that the 15% success rate wasn't good enough (DH had his done nearly 4 years ago & his body is producing sperm antibodies), so we've gone for extraction and ICSI, also we didn't want to have to worry about contraception after we'd had our kids.

We're also in Brisbane.

Schaz

we were told because of our circumstances - the snip was done nearly 4 years ago, that chances of a reversal working was about 15%. After about 2 years the body starts producing antibodies around the cut sites.

DH is still producing sperm so we're just going to extract instead, only puts an additional cost of about $500 onto the cost of IVF. In the long run this is less painful than the reversal, just a local in his balls and then extraction. This should only have to happen once, but he has been told to be prepared to have to go thru it again on the day they do my retrieval, as they may need more sperm.

rugrats - good luck with it all, feel free to PM me, I'm in brissy too

rugrats Guest

Thanks girls. cool, someone else in Brissy!