Thread: What have you done to change diet for TTC

Default What have you done to change diet for TTC

Hi Girls,

After 3 months of trying I thought maybe I am doing something wrong in terms of what I eat. Following is my everyday diet:

Oats and coffee for breakfast
    Museli bar or Le Snack for morning tea
    Sandwich for lunch
    Apple for afternoon tea
    Coffee before going home for the day
    Water all through the day
    Dinner usually meat/chicken and vege, pastas, stir frys.

Don't have take away all the time, maybe 1 time a week. Don't eat junk food everyday but drink a lot of coffee. Have some sort of alcohol every weekend, but don't go overboard neither does DH.

What do you think I should add/change?

Bella - u sound like ur on a great diet...nice and healthy and good amounts Maybe u could try and cut back a bit more coffee but don't punish urself too much!

I'm just beginning TTC #2 and am pretty much just eating a well balanced diet, trying to decrease my caffeine intake and am trying to avoid alcohol all together. I'm also taking the preg/breastfeeding multivitamins (as i'm still b/f #1).

Hope u get a soon

What should you change? The coffee. If it isn't decaf, I'd consider switching TO decaf. Caffeine can interfere with conception and implantation. That applies whether the caffeine you drink is in coffee, tea or soft drink.

I would also be adding a good dose of folate to your diet. Unfortunately in the "real" world we simply do not get enough folate naturally so it is vital to supplement when you are ttc.

Also, if you drink a reasonable amount of alcohol, you should probably take zinc to counter-act it.

Lisa

Is tea really that bad? I generally have two cups a day, would that be overkill. Don't like coffee so that's not a problem (and it brings migraines on for me). Tea makes me feel better when I have a queasy tummy.

Oh yeah...am taking folate tablets as well.