Thread: Becoming a really good cook

Question Becoming a really good cook

I'm looking for some book recommendations and suggestions for how I can become a better cook.

I'm a good cook and an even better baker. But all my meals are "nice." None of them are really great. I'm very good at cooking out of the Womens Weekly cookbooks - which are nice, wholesome meals, but not spectacular, iykwim?

I want to challenge myself to be better. I want to know how herbs and spices work and know more about cooking methods, etc, so that I can give my meals some zing.

A friend of mine loves to cook, and she's been giving me some frozen meals since DS was born - and they are to DIE for. This girl knows how to cook. But when I asked her for some tips she just said that she liked to experiment - which makes me feel a bit deflated cause I don't think I'm talented or confident enough to do that just yet.

How can I be a great cook? Should I be trying to cook out of Celebrity Chef books? Are there any cooking gurus I should be turning to? I have Stephanie Alexander's Cook's Companion but that doesn't seem "zingy" enough.

?

I think I took a bit of a leap when I went right out of my comfort zone and headed to India *grin. I've investigated Mexico and Morocco as well and I learnt alot about spices, herbs etc. My samosas are to die for!

There used to be a show called Get Fresh and this Jason guy regularly had guests from all over the world cooking real dishes (not aussie versions iykwim) so I got a lot of confidence watching them, then doing it myself. There are heaps of shows on Foxtel now, maybe you can find one you like?

Yeah I agree, find a chef you like who cooks the flavours you enjoy watch their show and read the books then experiment and have fun, don't be afraid to try something. I love the early Jamie Oliver stuff, he uses a lot of herbs, garlic and chillies.