thread: When/how to plant flowers/flowering plants?

Mar 2008
    Nth West Melbourne

When/how to plant flowers/flowering plants?

I am a TOTAL garden novice and black thumb. I make my DH water our plants because, seriously, if I go near them, they die. Its very sad because I love gardens. I just do not have any affinity for actually gardening.

Anyhow, we are getting rid of some horrible shrub things in the little patch of dirt outside out front door and I want to plant some flowers or plants that flower so it looks nice. The area is under a shadecloth, but I think it gets some afternoon sun (not direct until quite late in the day).

What do I plant? Do I have to wait until spring or if there anything I can plant now? How should I prepare the soil?? I need really easy plants that won't die when I look at them!!

Thanks!!!

Lucy in the sky with diamonds.

Jan 2005
    Funky Town, Vic

You can watch those dorky gardening shows - they are great for information about what to plant now and how to prepare soils etc.

There are also some good gardening magazines that show you what your 'zone' is, what grows in the zone and WHEN to plant it!

BellyBelly Life Subscriber

Jul 2008
    Eastern Surburbs, Melbourne

Have a go at planting begonias there. These are the small variety that you buy at Bunnings in punnets.
    They are pretty hardy just keep an eye on them as they get started. They are green all year round and mine flower most of the year and I do nothing to them.

Bulbs are good also so go to the garden shop and find out which ones are good for planting now.

We were given a bit of Rosemary, put it in water and it took off. So that look like it will be easy to grow and you cut it back when it gets to big. You will also have a plant that smells nice and a herb close by

Jan 2009